



JB Pritzker, Governor Brent Fischer, Executive Director

Phone: 217/782-4540 Fax: 217/524-5350 TDD: 866-740-3933

November 1, 2019

Dear Chief Probation Officer:

The Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board (Board) provides 40 Hour Mandatory Firearms Training (MFT) to approved County Probation Officers per P.A. 98-0725. In order to be approved for such training, the Chief Judge of the Judicial Circuit must designate each officer to be authorized to carry a firearm, and thus eligible for the MFT. This training is offered by the Board's Mobile Training Units (MTUs) located throughout the State. Please refer to the MTU map with contact numbers and addresses that can be found on our website – www.ptb.illinois.gov.

Listed below is the procedure to follow in order to arrange training for your approved Probation Officers:

1. Send a letter to the Board that establishes your agency as one that will have armed probation officers who will need the MFT.

2. Include with the letter a roster of those officers who will be firearms authorized.

3. Include with the letter a statement that the included officers have been approved by the Chief Judge of the Circuit.

4. Attach to the letter a copy of the Notice of Appointment (Form E) submitted through LEDI for each officer authorized to carry a firearm. LEDI is available through the Board's website. Proof of submission of the Form E must be received by the Board before an MTU will register your officers for MFT.

5. A copy of the letter from the Chief Judge approving/designating the officers as firearms approved must be forwarded to the MTU prior to the training.

In addition to the initial 40 hour MFT required by statute, your firearms qualified probation officers will also have to comply with Illinois law that requires them to qualify annually with their firearm. Each officer must complete the state qualification course of fire once in any 12 month period. This qualification must be completed and documented under the supervision of a Board approved Range Officer. Every six months, you will also need to forward to the Board a current roster of officers that includes the latest qualification date for each officer. Whenever one of your firearm approved probation officers leaves your agency, you will need to complete a FORM E for that officer on the Board's LEDI system, showing the date of the officer's separation from your agency.

You will need to contact the MTU in your area to discuss the arrangements/availability for training your officers. The cost of the training will be the responsibility of your agency, and is determined by the MTU. The MTUs generally hold the 40 Hour MFT twice each year, with some exceptions.

Please feel free to contact the Board in reference to this matter, if you have any questions.